I was inspired to create this recipe because of a few different reasons. First off, I love smoothies, fresh fruit, whole grains, honey for its health benefits and sweet taste, almond butter for its many benefits, as well as the other ingredients I have chosen. Secondly, this week was wedding week on my blog, featuring only wedding inspiration because of a photo shoot I styled with wedding gowns followed by a Bridal Spectacular event, so I found it an appropriate week and thought it would be fun to focus on one subject. I wanted to make a recipe that reminded me of something to enjoy on a honeymoon because of wedding week, but also something that even if you’re not going on a honeymoon anytime soon, a recipe to enjoy with whoever the sweetheart is in your life. After all, the reason for weddings is love. This recipe was inspired from times spent in Laguna beach. The reason being, I found the most delicious smoothie stops with unique ingredients similar to the ones in this recipe and I instantly fell in love. What is better than a recipe with fresh, healthy, and tasty ingredients that when put together remind you of vacation and add a little spice to your Sunday breakfast? Although I might not be enjoying this with my sweetheart on the beach everytime I make it as I was in Laguna, it brings a piece of the beach home and leaves the rest to the imagination. Great start to the day.

* What you need *

* Bread *

1 C Whole Wheat or Multigrain Flour (Favorite: Trader Joe’s Mutigrain Baking Flour)

1/4 Tsp Baking Powder

1 Tsp Olive Oil

1/4 C Milk (I used 2%, you can use 1% or almond milk)

1/4 C Liquid egg whites

1 C Old Fashioned Oats

1 Tbsp Honey

* Smoothie *

1/2 C Pomegranate seeds (1 medium size pomegranate for entire recipe)

1 C Yogurt

1 Tbsp honey

3 Truvia packets + 3 more (6 total)

2 C Ice + 2 more cups (4 total)

3/4 Cherry or Pomegranate Juice

1/4 C Water

10 Strawberries

* Extra for Parfait *

Pomegranate Seeds

2 Strawberries Sliced

Honey

Almond Butter (optional)

Coconut Flakes (optional)

* Recipe *

Preheat oven at 350 degrees

Mix dry ingredients for bread, except oatmeal and honey, then mix in wet ingredients

Now mix in oatmeal and honey

Lightly spray baking sheet with non stick spray or light butter

Separate mixture into two separate breads

Bake for 25 minutes at 350 degrees

Let cool, then but each piece into four small pieces (8 total)

* Smoothie time *

While waiting, make your smoothie, mix in all ingredients

After ingredients are blended, add in 2 more cups of ice

After ice is blended, stir in 3 more packets of truvia

Parfait time *

Pour in small amount (almost 1/2) of the glass with smoothie

Add in a 1/4 piece of the bread

Top with pomegranate seeds

Add more smoothie mixture

Top with strawberries (cut into small pieces so it is easier to eat without spilling) & honey

Coconut flakes, Almond butter (optional, super yummy) * One with and one without because my particular sweetheart enjoying this recipe does not like coconut : )

Voila!

There will be plenty extra of the smoothie to enjoy

With the rest of the bread, put on a plate & drizzle honey in the center

